Swing Driven Thing

Swing Driven Thing by Fiona Pears

Release date: 2014

This CD is a little different to my other releases. People have been asking me for years about recording a swing album. I’ve always loved the music of Django Reinhardt and Stéphane Grappelli, and although I often play this music live, I haven’t recorded much of it until now. As always with my CDs, I like to have a mixture of styles to keep it interesting for the listener. So there’s everything from the beautiful Django piece, Nuages, my own arrangement of Duke Ellington’s famous, Caravan, right through to a few of my own compositions, including the more classical, More Than a Memory.

As you can see from the cover, this album is intended to be fun! I had a great time recording it and I hope that you will hear this in the performances…

Watch a short video about the making of Swing Driven Thing

See full track list of Swing Driven Thing

  1. Full Moon - F. Pears
  2. Sunrise Sunset - J. Bock
  3. My Pal the Gypsy - J. Verrieres, M. Heyral
  4. Nuages - D. Reinhardt
  5. Swing Driven Thing - F. Pears
  6. Nature Boy - E. Ahbez
  7. Douce Ambiance - D. Reinhardt and S. Grappelli
  8. Memories - F. Pears
  9. Caravan - D. Ellington
  10. Angel Eyes - M. Dennis
  11. Dark Eyes - trad. arr. F. Pears
  12. Danse Norwegian - E. Grieg arr. F. Pears
  13. More than a Memory - F. Pears